Titterings of a Tubby Traveler

This is my first foray into blogging,

This blog is inspired by my plans for a two week fishing odyssey to the north of the Kamchatka Peninsular in the far east of Russia.  The trip is planned for the summer of 2016. I hope that this Blog will focus on the fishing, will be informative and occasionally amusing. Since my mind is rather mad and random I expect regular outtakes to other topics most notably travel and food, and anything else that tickles my fancy.

On the Subject of food, I like it, that is why I am slightly (or a lot) rotund or tubby, I have no excuse, I under exercise and over eat, I like my food. I also like exploring, new activities and cuisines.

I have referred to my planned trip as an odyssey not because a two and a bit week trip is an odyssey but because I have been contemplating doing this trip for more than 5 years and decided to go on over a year ago. So the planning and organization in its self is an odyssey.

In this Blog I shall explore the reasoning’s for my choices and try to be factual about what has influenced me.  I shall look at why I selected Kamchatka, the choice of Outfitter and particular fishing trip.  From there I will look at the selection of gear, and the trip particulars. I am hoping that the booking of the flights and visa process is painless however I shall try to report on any issues that I have.

During the trip I shall try to record as much as possible on Camera and Video. During the trip its self I do not expect that I will have more than minimal updates to the blog. Two things will contribute to this, lack of good access to the internet and I will be fishing, eating, drinking and generally taking in the local ambiance. I hope to be having far too much fun to be able to send time on a computer.

As a closing to my first post I have to mention another motivation for starting this Blog has been the Blog of VanKayak, it has provided me great escapism over the years, I have often thought of fishing the Rivers of British Columbia Canada while doing something dreadfully boring at work.

Leave a Reply

