English Pub Grub

A belated post.

During my week of travels in the UK I had three meals at pubs but sadly, due to my father’s ill health I failed to eat at the highly recommended the Crab and Lobster in Thirsk, North Yorkshire. As I am progressing with this blog I am finding I am far better at eating food than recording and writing about it.

20160210_074248_001 (2)
Dawn over the Yorkshire Dales

 

In the second day I was in Yorkshire I drove to across the Pennines to Penrith, Cumberland to visit a fishing tackle shop for essential supplies for my Kamchatka adventure, more on that in a later post.  Once I had spent rather too much money on fishing gear I was feeling rather hungry and on the recommendation of the John Norris staff I wandered up the street to “The Lounge”  for lunch, when I entered it gave off the ambiance of an Australian CWA (Country Women’s Association) sandwich room, the staff were friendly and the food was good. I ordered the special of the day; pulled beef in a Yorkshire pudding wrap with chips and gravy, the gravy tasted of mint sauce and as strange as it sounds it added to the overall flavor.  All in all it was a great light lunch which encompassed many of the tastes and traditions of northern England.

During the latter half of the week I said my fairwells in Yorkshire and made my way down to Hampshire to visit another set of cousins that live there. I always find Hampshire a lovely place; to me it is the classical genteel country England.

The next meal was a lunch with my Uncle M in a gastro pub called “The Harwood Arms” in Fulham, it was about four or five blocks from Stanford Bridge, the home of the Chelsea football club. For starters I had home cured pork with baked celeriac, smoked sour cream and hazelnut, M had Crab on Crumpet, for mains we both had the Berkshire partridge followed by a cheese platter for desert.  This was all washed down with a traditional pint of English beer, a glass of red with and a glass of Solera 1847, Pedro Ximenez.  The meal and drinks cost £70 per person including drinks. Although on the pricy it was worth it, all the plates were well balanced and very tasty and the portions were sufficient.

20160212_133259 (2)
Crab on Muffin
20160212_133309 (2).jpg
Cured pork with baked celeriac

 

My last meal before departure was with an ex colleague from Seoul , we are at the Tap on the Line at Kew gardens station , it is a nice bright airy pub that serves traditional English pub grub and beers. Knowing that it was my last meal in England I decided on a Pub Staple, Fish & Chips with mushy peas, my mistake!  As often happens with things like Fish and Chips I have an expectation of one thing but get another, for me the batter on the Fish was too heavy leaving me with the feeling of too much batter and too little fish.  However the Chips were fine, next time I would go for the Burger or something else.

Then it was on to the big silver budgie for the 12 hour trip back to Seoul.

Next: Outfitting for Kamchatka Visits to English Fishing Tackle Shops

Leave a Reply

